Poison Oak

“And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”   – Romans 8:28

I have come to learn so many verses that are within the Bible and when I was living out in Texas it was amazing as to how much they would correlate with what was going on in my life and seeing them acted out so to speak. I loved that God was working things in my life and in ways that I was able to learn and understand that He is who He says He is.

Romans 8:28 is probably one of the few verses that I remind myself of quite often; especially when things seem to be going through a rough patch. Back in 2008 when I was guardian of my brover; it was a tough time for the both of us and my other ‘family’ would recite this verse to me, mainly Jeremiah, and I could not for the life of me understand what it was he was trying to say. Long story short, things happened and at that time it seemed like it was going to be the end of the world, but I kept reciting that verse to myself in the hopes that it would calm me down a bit and finally make sense to me. A few months down the road things seemed to be right again and though I still cringe at the thought of that one bad moment in my life, I still remember that it was that moment that helped us get to where we are today and I wouldn’t change it for the world and that’s when I learned what that verse was saying.

Last weekend was the reception for the “Wings” exhibition at the Whittier Art Gallery; which was also my first. It was an experience to say the least and though I was nervous as could be, I enjoyed seeing all the work that was a part of the show and meeting other artists. I ended up placing second for photography and it was an amazing feeling but it also hasn’t hit just yet.

I was talking to Vicki about the show the other day and while we were talking she had said that she remembered the other day about how I had come down with poison oak up at camp this past summer by a freak accident from a mattress mind you (and there is none up there what so ever). It ended up being bad enough that she had taken me up to Big Bear to get it checked out and while we were driving up there she had asked me what I did for myself since most of my time is spent taking care of family. I started telling her about how I was getting into photography and that’s when she asked me to take some photos for her when we got back down the mountain and everything kind of fell in line after that.

As we were talking about everything that verse came to mind and she was right, had I not come down with the poison oak she probably would have never known that I’m into photography and I wouldn’t have my work in this show or these other wonderful opportunities that are because of her. At the time I knew something good was going to come of this eventually but I honestly wasn’t really thinking much about it; I saw it more of a lesson learned and I’d go on with my life laughing how something like this would only happen to me.

I just love how certain people are brought into our lives and we don’t think much of it until certain events come together and that random piece that you remember and put in the “not so important” category, and God brings it back up to remind you that it is Him making this all happen and that we need to keep our eyes open and not take those small random things lightly because we never know when that one itty bitty thing can change our lives.

I have received many congratulations and compliments about my work and though it is nice to hear those; it wasn’t just me, it’s God that has blessed me with an inspiration and talent for photography and it was because of Him that I was able to win that award the other weekend and though I’d like to take credit for it, I can’t; all of my successes are and will be because of Him.

One response

  1. that pic is adorable!

    October 8, 2010 at 12:26 am

Leave a Reply

