Starting with the basics

A few weeks back an old friend from camp asked me to take some head shots for him and his girlfriend and of course I was ecstatic! That totally made my day and of course it hadn’t really hit me until a few days ago that this was going to be my first real shoot so to speak and boy were my nerves getting the best of me!  It’s one thing doing a small photo shoot with some friends when you’re asking them to help you out with gaining experience but when you’re asked to do it; that’s a whole other story…

Turns out I knew Manny’s girlfriend Nerissa from camp as well,  it was great cause that helped put some of my nerves at ease a bit. My wonderful brover Danny was there at the beginning as well and that there meant a lot since he wasn’t feeling real well.

Now mind you, I usually do candid photography and know pretty much next to nothing about taking head shots and it was awesome working with Manny and Nerissa cause they were more than happy to help me learn more about taking that style of photo and because Nerissa has had head shots done before,  she was able to help me out a bit and give me ideas.

Overall, it wasn’t the best nor was it the worst; though I had a lot of fun and I don’t think it could have gone any better for my first shoot. I just have to remember that I’m still learning this art and I just have to start with the basics and practice just as if it were anything new that I’d take up. If you know me well, you’ll know that I work hard to get where I want to be but I also hate the process of getting there…and this is one process I could care less for lol.  I am so glad that I was able to get this one under my belt and begin this new journey of where I want to be.  Onto the next!

Manny and Nerissa, thank you so much for today! It was a lot of fun and it was great catching up a bit since we hadn’t seen each other in ages.

Leave a Reply

